Root Chakra Beginners Guide

Root Chakra

It is through your root chakra that you establish a foundation for how you will journey through your life experiences. It governs your overall sense of survival, safety, security, and trust.

Our overall sense of purpose and connection to the Universal Life Force begins at the root. It's a portal through which we energetically ground ourselves in this world without forgetting about our infinite or spiritual nature.

To discover your purpose, means to know your place in this world. When we feel uncertain of our purpose, it means that the life force energy is not flowing as freely thorough your root chakra. It must be opened, cleared, and balanced so that the energy flow through and support the rest of your being.

The root chakra is referred to as Muladhara, which breaks down into two Sanskrit words: Mula meaning root and Adhara, which means support or base.

All other chakras are supported by the energy flow of a balanced root chakra provides. Without this foundation, all other chakras will be unbalanced. 

The following list of correspondences can help you to open and energize your root chakra, and provide a firm foundation to correct any imbalances within your being. 

Root Chakra Beginners Guide | Dominique D Wilson

Chakra: Root chakra; 1st chakra; base chakra; Muladhara

Theme: A Solid Foundation

Location: Base of spine, 1st 3 vertebrae, pelvic floor

Body Systems: Digestive, excretory, muscular, nervous

Significance: Survival, safety, stability, manifestation, trust, grounding, connection

Sense: Smell

Color: Red

Mantra (sound): LAM

Herbs: Hibiscus flower (Hibiscus rosa-sinensis), Ashwaganda, haritaki, shatavari root (wild asparagus), lotus root

Element: Earth

Stones: Red Jasper, Black Obsidian, Garnet, Bloodstone, Black Tourmaline

Affirmation: "I AM an expression of unconditional Love—whole, perfect, and complete."

Balance: Reiki therapy, walk barefooted outdoors, hand drumming, Kegel exercises, Yoga Asanas (knee-to-chest pose, head-to-knee pose, squatting pose, and lotus pose), breathwork

Unbalanced: Emotional reactivity, excessive anger, weakness of feet and legs, fears, anxiety disorders, insecurity, nightmares, colon issues, elimination issues, bladder issues, mistrust, low self-worth, identity confusion

Return again, return again, return again to rediscover YOU. Namaste.

In Peace & Beauty,


chakra symbols

>>>CLICK HERE TO READ: Sacral Chakra Beginner's Guide

Root Chakra Oil $8

Chakra Oil Set $56

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *